Funding and Grants

The institute and its faculty have been successful in obtaining substantial extra-mural funding, demonstrating the quality of research carried out at IBAB. Funding has been obtained from a range of sources such as national funding agencies, philanthropic agencies from within the country and abroad, and the Government of Karnataka.

Grants to the institute from the Government of India (GoI)

Aside from research grants to individual faculty, the institute has received large grants for its research and educational programmes from various departments of GoI. These have come from the Department of Biotechnology (‘B-Life’ Programme), the Department of Electronics and IT (‘Centre of Excellence in Bioinformatics Training and Research’programme) and the Department of Science and Technology (‘FIST’ programme).

Research grants

Faculty have received research grants from the following agencies within India:

  • Council of Science and Industrial Research (CSIR)
  • Department of Biotechnology (DBT)
  • Department of Electronics and Information technology (DeitY)
  • Department of Science and Technology (DST)

They have also received research grants from the following foreign sources:

  • Wadhwani Foundation (USA)
  • A large university in the US
  • Institut Merieux (France)


IBAB has received generous contributions from a range of companies, foundations or individual philanthropists, as follows:

 Donor (individual or organization) Nature of support
1.AccelrysAccelrys Awards for students excelling in structural biology
2.IBAB alumniStudent scholarships
3.Anonymous philanthropistThe Nabinita Ghosh Scholarship
4.Anonymous philanthropistStudent fellowship
5.The AstraZeneca Research
Foundation of India
Faculty chair and visiting Fellowships in Chemoinformatics
 AZRFI was one of the first major foundations to provide a corpus donation to IBAB. This corpus has supported workshops, training and research in chemoinformatics.
6.The AstraZeneca Research
Foundation of India
Student scholarships
7.Biocon FoundationThe Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw Lecture Series
 The KMS Lecture Series brings the most innovative scientists to IBAB and the Bangalore scientific community. Past speakers have been Prof. Venki Ramakrishnan (Nobel Laureate), Prof. Dinshaw Patel (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center), Prof. Ram Sasisekharan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Prof. Sangeeta Bhatia (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Prof. Arul Chinnaiyan (University of Michigan), Prof. Ashok Venkitaraman (University of Cambridge) and Prof. Vamsi Mootha (Harvard University).
8.Biocon FoundationFaculty Chair
 Biocon Foundation has been supporting a Faculty Chair at IBAB for several years. Over the years, this Chair has enabled several faculty to strengthen their research programmes and provide quality education and training to students. Dr. H S Subramanya, Director of IBAB, is the current occupant of this chair.
9.Biocon FoundationStudent scholarship
10.DeNovo Biolabs Pvt. Ltd.Student support
11.The Dr. C M Gupta familyThe Dr. C M Gupta Scholarships for Scientific Excellence
12ICICI BankStudent scholarships
13.The Infosys FoundationInfosys Chair
 The Infosys Foundation has endowed the Infosys Chair at IBAB. Dr. C M Gupta, former Director of CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute and CSIR – Institute of Microbial Technology, is the first occupant of this Chair.
14.The Infosys FoundationMurty’s Medal of Excellence for Best All-round Performance’ and ‘Murty’s Medal of Excellence for Best Student’
15.Dr. Kiran Mazumdar-ShawThe Mazumdar-Shaw Chair in Computational Biology
 Dr. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw has endowed the Mazumdar-Shaw Chair in Computational Biology at IBAB to support advanced research and teaching in this area. Prof. Yathindra, former Director of IBAB, is the first occupant of this chair.
16.Millipore India Pvt. Ltd.Millipore Awards for the two best women students
17MSD Pharmaceuticals (Merck)Faculty chair and student scholarships
18.Novozymes South Asia Pvt. Ltd.Incubation activities and student scholarship
19.Mr. Venkat RajagopalBest Student awards in computer programming
20.Dr. J RamachandranStudent scholarships
21.Shireen Vali and Taher AbbasiStudent scholarship
22.Sartorius India Pvt. Ltd.Best Student awards
23.Strand Life Sciences Pvt. Ltd.Best Student awards

Give for the Future

The world has become knowledge-centric, where much of its activities are driven by the generation of new knowledge and its application. Scientific research is a key part of knowledge-generation, and education and the development of manpower is vital for knowledge dissemination. A donation to IBAB is a donation for building an internationally recognized institute in the areas of biotechnology and bioinformatics. Our donors help us grow this novel institute, with an agenda of educating young people through modern curricula and pedagogies; and creating new innovations, jobs, and economic growth.