Prof. Debabrata Das

Director, International Institute of Information Technology, Bengaluru.

Prof. Debabrata Das is Director of IIIT Bangalore (IIITB). He received his Ph.D. degree from the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. Subsequently he held positions at the G S Sanyal School of Telecommunication at IIT Kharagpur and at Kirana Networks in New Jersey, USA. He joined IIITB in 2002 and has been the Hewlett Packard Endowment Chair Professor in IIITB.

Prof. Das has more than 180 peer reviewed papers in journals and proceedings. He has also received multiple best paper awards. Prof. Das has 15 granted or under review US/Indian patents. Additionally, he and his wireless network team had contributed ideas to IEEE Wireless Broadband Standard. 

Prof. Das’s main areas of research interest are IoT and Wireless Access Network’s MAC, QoS, and power saving. He has been PI of multiple sponsored projects from Intel, Hewlett Packard, Microsoft, Motorola Research, Nokia, Govt. of India in the areas of Broadband Wireless MAC/QoS/Energy-saving, IMS. 

Prof. Das has received multiple awards, including the Prof. K. Sreenivasan Memorial Award 2017 and the Global IEEE MGA Achievement Award 2012. He is a Chair, or Member, of several councils and committees, including Chair-Elect 2021 IEEE India Council; Board Member of IIIT Bhubaneswar; and a Technical/Steering/Empower Committee member of multiple Departments of the Government of India and Government of Karnataka.